A cozy Saturday…

Working at a boarding school, I only get one day off a week and like to make the most of it and spend some quality time with my boyfriend, JO. But, JO and I work opposite days this week, and when I woke up this morning with a froggy voice – a recurrence of the sore throat that’s been lingering for 2 weeks – and saw the flurries falling, I decided to make this day a restful one. I heated up some orange juice on the stove (weird, I know, but totally effective in getting rid of the sore throat!) and had every intention of making myself a delicious, slow, homemade breakfast… However, I realized that there was a Zumba class going on downtown in 15 minutes. Despite my vow to take the day off from exercising and stay home, I quickly changed into yoga clothes and decided to save the bread for lunch.  I grabbed a chocolate chip cookie dough lara bar, slipped on my running shoes, and headed out the door.

Breakfast: chocolate chip cookie dough lara bar + hot orange juice (unpictured)

Chocolate chip cookie dough larabar

I am glad that I went! Zumba class was a great mood-lifter. After class, I headed to the Dollar Store (ugh), where I picked Valentine-making supplies (side note: It is mandatory that every teacher make his/her students valentines and vice versa. I totally feel for my 5th grade boys), stopped at the library to load up on bad mystery novels to read on the treadmill, and then did TWO loops around Mirror Lake for a total of 6 miles. I caught up with friends and family and worked up an enormous appetite. By the time I finished, it was nearly 12:30, and I was HANGRY. I stopped at the health-food store where I snacked on an undocumented piece of dark chocolate (samples!), picked up a Gingerade Kombucha, and a couple of ripe bananas for a recipe for pumpkin bread.

Snacks: TJ's blue corn chips + undocumented chocolate

Gingeraid Kombucha is great for quenching hanger.

Snacks: handful of blue corn tortilla chips + Ginger-aid Kombucha, + undocumented chocolate

When I got home, I immediately set to work on set to work on Pumpkin Protein bread, a recipe I saw here: http://www.sweettoothsweetlife.com/2011/02/01/protein-pumpkin-breakfast-cake/ . Gluten-free, low-sugar, jam-packed with protein and fiber, and pumpkiny (does pumpkin get old?), the cake caught my eye. However, since I despise cottage cheese (umm, it has the texture of cellulite), I decided to make some alterations to the recipe and substituted a spoonful of ricotta cheese and about 1/2 cup Trader Joe’s Chunky Spiced Apples, which J.O. and I stocked up on last weekend on our trip to Boston.  Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients:

2 ¼ cup liquid egg whites

1 can pumpkin (I used about ¾ of the 30 oz can)

½ cup light coconut milk ½ cup almond milk

2 packets of Stevia

2 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. cinnamon 2 tsp. cinnamon (I love the flavor)

Vanilla

1 scoop Vanilla protein powder

2 2/3 cup old-fashioned oats 2 2/3 cups quick oats (what I had on-hand)

1 apple finely chopped ½ cup TJ’s Chunky Spiced Apple

½ cup low-fat cottage cheese a few tablespoons of whole milk ricotta cheese

Pecans

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 325. Mix the ingredients together in a big bowl.  Pour into greased loaf pan. Cook for about 50 minutes, until the center is dry.

TJ's Chunky Spiced Apples

Here’s what lunch looked like, when I finally got around to eating it at 2:45 when the bread got out of the oven: a piece of protein pumpkin bread, topped with  banana, and a couple drips of real maple syrup. The pumpkin bread didn’t really “set,” but it was still delicious and souffle-y.

With a drizzle of maple syrup, this healthy bread tastes sinful.

Protein Pumpkin Bread

I plan on spending the rest of the afternoon watching movies, making valentines, browsing my graduate school catalogue, and sipping a glass of wine (at a reasonable hour). My dinner plans include leftover steak from last night’s date night. I have to hit the hay by 9:30 for tomorrow 15 hour day at work. Activity begone!

This entry was posted in gluten-free, kombucha, pumpkin and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A cozy Saturday…

  1. Kath (My Funny Little Life) says:

    Mmmmmmmm, this pumpkin bread looks awesome!

Leave a Reply

