Coconut Cream Pie with Chocolate Sauce

"Coconut cream pie"

Looky, looky. Hungry yet? Oh, don’t you wait, I’ll get to the recipe, one that emerged from a bit of cabin fever. It has been snowing. all. day. long. So, this morning after a latte

YOU are pretty tasty, but you aren't quite Dogwood.

and some homework at Starbucks (because our beloved coffee shop, Dogwood, isn’t open on Sundays), I was antsy. I decided to brave the horrific driving conditions to get a run in. It was a white-knuckle kind of drive. Thank goodness for studded snow tires is all I have to say; I saw so many accidents along the windy road. Also, thank goodness for “The Splendid Table” which took my mind off the sketchiness of the road. After running 5.12 miles at a 7:47 pace, I was STILL feeling a bit unsettled. I knew just the thing to do: BAKE. It always calms me. I came across THIS MOST BEAUTIFUL RECIPE and knew I had to try it. I pulled out my unsweetened coconut milk

and got to work.

Here’s the recipe with my substitutions for a sugar-free coconut cream pie (I say pie, because I baked it in a pie pan…but you could also call it a blondie):

Coconut Cream Pie (nearly sugar-free, gluten-free)

  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 2 eggs 1/4 cup unsweetened apple sauce
  • 1 cup sugar 2 ripe, mashed bananas
  • 1/2 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup flour (Like Evan, I used Bob’s Red Mill gluten-free flour)
  • 1/2 cup shredded coconut I was out of this and wasn’t about to venture out in the snow, so I omitted it
  • 1/3 cup white chocolate chips 2 tablespoons of the darkest chocolate chips I could find
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking powder

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 350, and grease a pie pan.

2. Mix all the ingredients together with an electric mixer.

3. Pour into pan, and bake for about 45 minutes, or until cooked through.

EASY AS PIE*, right? Pun intended.

While it was cooking, I made some of HEAB’s Chocado Pudding. I took an avocado,

Avocado

a rounded teas tablespoon  of unsweetened cocoa powder,

a rounded tablespoon of cocoa powder

 

and threw it in the blender with 1/4 cup of water and some stevia powder.

Delicious.

Jared and I each had a slice of Coconut Cream Pie with Chocolate Sauce.

Heaven on a Sunday afternoon.

So stinking good.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Coconut Cream Pie with Chocolate Sauce

  1. Lindsay says:

    I am loving that coconut pie recipe! I even glanced at the coconut milk today at the store and passed it up, now I’ll be sure to snag one at this week’s next grocery run! I am always looking for a sweet treat in my day, so thank you for the great idea!!

  2. Kath (My Funny Little Life) says:

    Looks awesome! :D

  3. Yummy looking pie and chocolate sauce! What a nice way to end the weekend :)

    P.S. – Just kicked off my Spring Shape Up Challenge and there is a giveaway for a $10 iTunes card! Come on over and enter the contest!

  4. Heaven indeed. I like your version of the coconut cream pie much better, and your chocolate sauce looks so smooth and creamy. Perfect for a snow evening. :)

Leave a Reply

