Summer Envy

OH BOY. We have several FEET of snow on the ground. I have major summer envy. I miss:

flowery fields

hiking in the woods in a teeshirt

sunsets like this

warm, quiet mornings and long docks

summer sports and butterflies

sunglasses and smiling outside

I miss summer, and I miss Colorado, where I lived before I moved here. TWO MORE DAYS until spring break, and JO and I are off to Colorado for 2 weeks. Wahoo!

Since I’m brand-new to this blog thing, I figured I’d introduce myself using the ABCs I’ve seen featured on other sights. I feel a bit ridiculous, since my readership pretty much only includes family members, but…..here goes:

A. Age: 26

B. Bed size: queen – that was one thing JO and I bought when we moved

C. Chore you dislike: folding laundry – if left to my own devices, laundry would sit unfolded for weeks

D. Dogs: my childhood golden retriever, Sam, died in July.

E. Essential start to your day: EXERCISE – I either run or do yoga nearly every morning. I’m a nutcase if I don’t move early and often.

F. Favorite color: periwinkle, ever since I was little, but I also like green.

G. Gold or silver: Silver, silver, silver – I can’t pull gold off.

H. Height: 5 feet 6 inches tall – I swear I’ve grown 2 inches in the past two years, though JO says that’s impossible

I. Instruments you play(ed): I played clarinet in 5th grade because my best friend, Lauren, had started band, and we always copied each other in everything. My foray into the clarinet was short-lived, however. There’s a great story attached to my musical history…but it’s too long to write right now:). I SING, and I recently took up the djembe drum.

J. Job title: 4th/5th grade teacher, houseparent – ie: I raise other peoples’ children.

K. Kids: I’ve got 11 raucous boys to deal with in the dorm for which I houseparent. That’s enough. I definitely want my own kids later on. I may or may not have their names chosen already.

L. Live: the snowy North Country…for now. I spent 2 years in Steamboat Springs, CO, and I grew up in Wisconsin.

M. Mom’s name: Holly

N. Nicknames: SBH, Sarbear

O. Overnight hospital stays: none – except the night I was born! (knock on wood)

P. Pet peeves: SLOW WALKERS. I CAN’T. STAND. THEM.

Q. Quote from a movie: “For every job that must be done, there is an element of fun. You find the fun, and SNAP! The job’s a game.” – Mary Poppins; “I’m Leisl. I’m 16 years old, and I don’t need a governess.” – The Sound of Music (my favorite movie of all time)

R. Righty or lefty: lefty – officially, but really I’m ambidextrous. I write with my left hand but cut and eat with my right hand.

S. Siblings: two younger brothers ages 23 and 21.

T. Time you wake up: between 5-5:30 on weekdays, and 7:00 on the weekends. I can’t sleep in to save my life, and it drives my boyfriend nuts.

U. Underwear: Yes. Except maybe after Bikram yoga.

V. Vegetables you dont’ like: mushy tomatoes

W. What makes you late: JO.

X. X-rays you’ve had: my femurs – 3 times (MRI’s actually – stress fractures from running); my clavical (broke it tobogganing); my shoulder (broke it when I tripped down the icy stairs of the dorm)

Y. Yummy food you make: My butterscotch oatmeal cookies are pretty out of this world. Recently, I’ve been accused of being simultaneously evil and heavenly due to these cake balls .

Z. Zoo animal favorites: I love dolphins, though these are technically aquarium animals. Once, I even got kicked out of the Shedd Aquarium for copying the trainer’s moves in the dolphin show. I was “agitating the dolphins”. I was 13. Sue me.

Now that I feel entirely self-indulgent, I’m going to run. I’m finishing my grading and helping kids pack for spring break.

Happy Monday.

Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Summer Envy

  1. Kath (My Funny Little Life) says:

    I’m soooooooo much looking forward for the cold to leave … Can’t have it anymore. ;)

    Your photos are beautiful! I especially love the flowery fields and long docks. I don’t love mushy tomatoes at all, though.

  2. mitzi song says:

    i’d be super happy if i grew 2 inches at this point in my life! =)

  3. brandi says:

    I love the Sound of Music! :)

    I saw your comment on Eat, Live, Run and am so happy to find other who loved “Mandy”! Such a good book :)

Leave a Reply

