We Made It.

Wahoo, we made it! We’re in SUNNY Colorado about to take off on an adventure to visit two of our good friends, Steve and Jackie, in Winter Park for a few days.  Here’s a recap of the past 24 hours:

Friday night, we made dinner for our neighbor, Wendy, while she and I tried to cast the spring play. Having cut the 45 students who auditioned down to the 25 roles in The Goonies was difficult.  We used the rest of the contents of our refrigerator to make cheeseburgers and 1 garlic roasted sweet potato to split between the three of us. The recipe for the sweet potatoes came from dailynibbles.com , a beautiful blog.

a lone sweet potato and 1/2 glove of garlic

After dinner, it was: OPERATION PACK. I thought an hour would be sufficient, but I didn’t take into account the fact that I a) am the world’s heaviest packer b) have a penchant for packing 27 sundresses, because I LOVE dresses c) would have to pack for chilly Winter Park, balmy Boulder, an interview in Utah. Grr, JO challenged me to fit everything for a 10 day trip into a carry-on.  Just to avoid him gloating, I did it. But not without some sweat and tears. And also, maybe, some snide comments along the lines of, “Oh, JO, you think you’re so superior, don’t you, fitting all your stuff into a small gym bag. Well, let me tell you something: efficiency of packing is NOT correlated with moral superiority. So there.”

Here’s my completely stuffed bag:

Here’s the discard pile:

Yes, I wanted to bring 3 strapless dresses to Colorado in March. Don't judge.

Between the two of us, JO and I had the following:

not bad, eh?

I got up at 4:30 yesterday morning for some yoga before our five hour drive to New York City. I was sure to pack some healthy snacks to avoid the Oh- hello- Dairy- Queen- Blizzard- Phenomenon. Some scenes from our drive:

Key Lime Greek Yogurt is delicious.

Are you still lecturing me about my voluminous back?

Even if JO still was harboring some ill feelings towards my bulging bag, I didn’t care. Why? It was sunny.

Yay, bug glasses!

And I got to pull out JO’s Christmas present for the first time.

Adorable grey suede and purple tennies. Okay, I forgive you, JO.

When we got to the airport after a five hour drive and an airport shuttle, I was craving something crunchy. Cosi salad it was.

During our five-hour delay in Chicago, I picked up an unbelievably addicting book.

So good. Buy it now. I can't wait to do a book review. I also amused myself by taking about 50 laps around the concourse. JO and I stopped at the O’Hare Bar for some vino and brew and a few chicken wings.

I am quite pleased, despite the long travel day and my disheveled eyebrows. Perhaps it's time for a wax.

I’m off to Winter Park and Steamboat. Hello, Spring Break!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to We Made It.

  1. Kath (My Funny Little Life) says:

    Gah, packing … Absolutely nightmare. Unpacking as well, grr. I’ll have to do that as well, soon.

    Have a wonderful trip and enjoy the season! :)

  2. Lindsay says:

    I HATE packing!! And my hubs frequently puts me on the carry-on only challenge, so I am so glad you succeeded (in their faces!!!). I’ll have to check out the book you are reading, I’ve been seeing it EVERYWHERE! I hope your trip to CO is wonderful!

  3. Lindsay says:

    Oh, and good luck cutting kids for the play…we just held auditions for my studio’s dance team out here in Cali. It is heartbreaking to make cuts at times!!

Leave a Reply

