She Runs Hot, She Runs Cold

Weather patterns in the Adirondacks are mercurial at best. Yesterday it was 55 degrees and sunny. The snow piles were running, and my students were sporting tee-shirts.  Look what I brought on my field trip!

Sunglasses mean sun.

Today, I woke up to a veritable blizzard as proven by the view from my kitchen window (hey, don’t judge my hoarding of glass jars):

I love you Teddy Peanut Butter; snow you aren't as cute.

Look little jars, it's winter still.

With my taste for spring peaked and snow swirling around outside, I decided: I’m going to hot yoga!! I’ve been dying to try bikram for a few months now, ever since a place opened up in town. But, given my busy schedule and the fact that bikram is expensive, I’ve held off. Today, I wasn’t having it (it, being the SNOW, of course). I made myself a filling breakfast of apple pie oatmeal. Into the mix: ½ cup oatmeal, ½ cup TJ’s Spiced Apples, 1 rounded (tea)spoonful of almond butter, and a dash of almond milk), filled up a couple of water bottles, threw a larabar in my backpack, and headed off to hot yoga here.

Tasty.

Hello, enormous glob of almond butter

 

Come to mama.

H2O.

Oh my word, I think I’ve fallen in love.  Bikram was SO wonderful. I think I sweat off about 10 pounds. By the end of the 90 minutes Within 5 minutes of entering the 107 degree room, I was dripping with sweat, and it felt amazing – totally detoxifying. My kneecaps were sweating, no joke, and my fingers were prunes by the end of class. I felt a lot more limber in the heat, limber enough, in fact, to hold Camel pose (eww, eww, I hate this one) for more than 2 seconds. It was weird to look at my shoulders and see about a million beads of sweat and then look out the window and see snow drifts. I felt, momentarily, as though I had outwitted Mother Nature….until my car got stuck in the parking lot on the way out.  After class, I drank about 4 gallons of water and refueled with a larabar before running some errands. I stopped by the grocery store to pick up some fruit and a package of sushi  (I was craving it). Still sweating after my detour at Price Chopper, I decided I’d had enough of the heat  – I guess I’m a bit fickle too – and went for a brisk 4.5-5 mile walk around Mirror Lake and through town. Before I started, I had four pieces of my salmon sushi roll. I guess I must have sweat out a bunch of calories, because I was s-t-a-r-v-i-n-g. After an hour and a half of intense yoga and an hour of very fast walking, I came home and served myself the rest of the sushi roll + a handful of (undocumented) blue chips.

larabar

Salmon roll.

Up close and personal with my sushi.

Now, I’m settling in for an afternoon of baking projects, laundry, and school work. Once again, JO and I are on opposite schedules, so I’m having a quiet afternoon at home. Ciao!

This entry was posted in almond butter, breakfast, oatmeal, yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to She Runs Hot, She Runs Cold

  1. Kath (My Funny Little Life) says:

    I’ve never tried Bikram Yoga, but I love to do the Surya Namaskara after getting up. So refreshing! Sushi is great, and your salmon rolls look mouthwatering! Have you ever made sushi yourself? It’s not that difficult!

  2. Pingback: Review: A Week in Eats February 19th-26th | The Rounded Teaspoon

Leave a Reply

