It’s Hard Being a Grown-up

Now, I don’t mean to complain, but I’m gonna complain anyway: being this busy is tough! JO and I work about 70 hours a week and only have 1 day off a week. My precious little free time is often filled with mundane tasks like laundry, cleaning, dishes, and grocery-shopping (well, okay, I went to a bikram class today so life really ain’t that bad). Indeed, my grown-up responsibilities were staring me in the face this afternoon when I couldn’t get to the bathroom without stepping on someone’s – I won’t name names here – polka-dot boxers.

Hello, laundry.

Okay, okay, to be fair, I also stepped on someone else’s pink camisole.This afternoon  was spent dealing with all the things I let slide during the week. I also spent some time getting my bake on in the kitchen, which you’ll hear about tomorrow. All I can say is that during this endeavor, white chocolate chips presented themselves to me as manna from heaven.

manna.

Yes, these chocolate chips contain processed sugar. But, when you see what I turned down, you will forgive this misstep.

By the time 7 o’clock rolled around, I was ready to kick up my feet and relax.  I fixed myself a plate of pickles, carrots with tahini drizzle, and leftover steak from Tuesday’s dinner .  I poured myself a glass of Prosecco, put on my cozy pjs, and settled in to watch a cheesy movie that I had picked up from Redbox.

Prosecco.

dinner

Now, after a few hours of relaxing, I feel almost, almost ready to face a 15 hour day tomorrow. Oy.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s Hard Being a Grown-up

  1. Kath (My Funny Little Life) says:

    Gah, chores … 😕 Just facing piles of laundry myself today, and my kitchen is stuffed with laundry racks. 15 hours sounds like a heavy day, I hope you’ll get through it well! And there’s nothing better than a glass of prosecco (or wine) in the evening, no? 😉

  2. Pingback: Review: A Week in Eats February 19th-26th | The Rounded Teaspoon

Leave a Reply

