Let Them Eat Cake

On Friday night, JO and I babysat for Zachary, the son of my co-teachers, Mark and Carrie, while they celebrated Carrie’s birthday. Armed with cheese pizza, How to Train your Dragon, and cream cheese and powdered sugar, I had a stellar night ahead.  I decided that Zachary and I would make his mom a carrot cake (her favorite) using Ina Garten’s so-sinful-you-gain-at least-five-pounds-just-looking-at-it cream cheese frosting.

Here are a few snap shots of us making the cake:

Lots of food coloring was employed.

We attempted to make black frosting, as he wanted a zebra-striped cake. There's a reason black frosting is sold as its own thing.

Dragon Manual.

A jolly time was had by all! Unfortunately, I didn’t get a snapshot of the finished product: a zebra striped with orange sides double-layer cake. Unfortunately, I overestimated the amount we’d need and was left with a boatload of cream cheese frosting:

The boatload of cream cheese frosting.

Fortunately, I had been eyeing Jenna’s cake balls for a few months now. Fortunately, I had in my cupboard a King Arthur Flour Gluten-Free Cake Mix .

Fortunately, I happened to pick up a bottle of sprinkles while on my walk on Saturday afternoon.

Needless to say, fortunes aligned, and I baked some birthday cake balls.

Ingredients:

A boxed cake of your choosing (if you’re going semi-homemade with it – I used King Arthur Flour Gluten-Free Chocolate Cake mix… or if you’re being all gourmet and wonderful, you can make a flourless chocolate cake)

A batch of Ina Garten’s sinful cream cheese frosting – ¾ pound of cream cheese; ½ pound of unsalted butter; 2 tsp. of vanilla; 1 pound of powdered sugar ¾ pound of powdered sugar

24 oz. of white chocolate chips

Sprinkles

Directions:

  1. Pour yourself a glass of your boyfriend’s delicious homemade Kombucha in a (futile) attempt to  squelch your desire to sample the baked goods.

    JO makes kombucha. He's pretty swell.

  2. Mix the cake mix, and bake for indicated time.

    A chocolate bath.

  3. While the cake is baking, make frosting.
  4. Let the cake cool completely.
  5. After the cake has cooled, crumble into large bowl.
  6. With an electric mixer, fold in cream cheese frosting. ***The cake will almost seem like batter again. 
  7. When the cake and frosting are mixed, use your hands to roll the mix into donut-hole-sized balls. Place on cookie sheets lined with tin foil or parchment paper. 
  8. Place cake balls in freezer for about an hour.
  9. While the cake is in the freezer, use a double boiler to melt 24 oz. of white chocolate chips. **If you don’t have a double-boiler, improvise!

    I've jerry-rigged a double boiler.

  10. Give into temptation and eat a few white chocolate chips, despite the fact that they contain processed sugar. Look at the light: the chips look like manna from heaven. How can you blame me for eating them?

    manna.

  11. After cake balls have been in the freezer for about an hour, dip them in melted white chocolate. ***I found it helpful to use a spoon here.
  12. Decorate cake balls with sprinkles.

    rainbow sprinkles

  13. Have your neighbors sample cake balls to confirm their edibility. Be accused of “inducing diabetes”.
  14. Since neighbors are WOWED, sneak over to boys’ dorm to surprise your boyfriend with cake balls. Accept his calling you “goddess”.

    the finished product.

Unfortunately, these cake balls will ruin your dinner. Fortunately, I have neighbors and co-workers who will gladly accept my baked goods so that I don’t have to gobble them up myself.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Let Them Eat Cake

  1. Kath (My Funny Little Life) says:

    Ha! Awesome! 😀

    What’s in that Dragon Manual, anyways? I could need a dragon instruction.

  2. In case you are unfamiliar, a dragon manual is helpful for when dragon-watching in an enchanted forest. The dragons are categorized by size.

  3. Pingback: Summer Envy | The Rounded Teaspoon

Leave a Reply

