In the Land of the Bland…

I was struck by a swift but violent bout of food sickness last night. I know you don’t want the details, so suffice it to say: I was looking forward to eating bland food today when I finally pulled myself out of bed at 6:30 this morning. Thankfully, school served me and the other wheat-free peeps some yogurt. I started my day with a bowl of plain yogurt, 2 tablespoons of granola, and the faintest drizzle of maple syrup. Just what the doctor ordered! Mid-way through the morning, a throughly dehydrated me snacked on this pear:

a little dark, but you get the picture.

After teaching several classes and proctoring a standardized test (read: meltdown of all my kids), I was in the mood for neither the fish being served nor the dining room atmosphere. I skipped home and whipped myself up some comforting oatmeal. Into the mix: 1/2 cup oatmeal, a rounded (tea)spoonful of almond butter, 1/2 scoop of protein powder, a splash of almond milk and a sprinkle of stevia. It was so. good.

Don't you look cute and ready.

Sweet leaf that doesn't cause a spike in blood sugar. Sweet!

And because when I’m sick, I miss home home, I decided to serve my lunch in a mug from my home state of Wisconsin.

Door County.

I finished lunch around 1:00 and determined that I’d have just enough time to squeeze in a run at the gym before I was due back at school around 3:00. But, because I spent a significant portion of the night hugging the porcelain school bus (too much info?), I knew that I’d need MAJOR motivation.

Enter the cheesy tabloids and celebrity gossip. Yes!

People magazine: the cure for treadmill blues.

Once at the gym, I ran a quick 5 miles at a 7:40 pace. Phewf! And, I showered and made it back to school in time to show my 4th grade literature circle the movie version of Bridge to Terebithia. We were celebrating having finished the novel! When JO and I walked in the door at 4:30, he proclaimed he had a treat for me. Boy, did he.

Perfect effervescent apple-y, ginger-y homemade kombucha

JO, you are magnificent. Your kombucha totally competes with my beloved health-store version. I paired his drink with some gluten-free pretzels and a cube of cheddar cheese and a 1/2 cup of apple sauce.

This is not a pretty picture. But it sure tasted good.

What can I say? My appetite is back. Now, I’m headed off for an evening of dorm duty, and the kitchen is serving sausage and potatoes. I think my stomach is ready for some meat.

Ciao, peeps!

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to In the Land of the Bland…

  1. Sorry you weren’t feeling well this morning! That doesn’t sound like much fun!

  2. Pingback: Review: A Week in Eats February 19th-26th | The Rounded Teaspoon

  3. Kath (My Funny Little Life) says:

    You made your own kombucha? Awesome! 😀

Leave a Reply

