Review: A Week in Eats February 19th-26th

February 19th-26th

Saturday, February 19th

Breakfast: almond and apple oatmeal (1/2 cup oatmeal, ½ cup TJ’s spiced apples, 1 heaping (tea)spoonful of almond butter, water, dash of almond milk; snack: chocolate chip cookie larabar; lunch 1 at 11:00: 4 pieces of sushi roll; lunch 2 at 1:00: 4 pieces of sushi roll, handful of bluechips; snack : a few white chocolate chips; dinner : pickles, carrots with tahini, leftover steak, prosecco

workout: 90 minutes bikram yoga, 4.5 mile walk

Sunday, February 20th

breakfast: gluten-free pancakes with real maple syrup, 1 scrambled egg, coffee;  lunch: salad with peas, rosemary chicken, carrots, and olive oil dressing, cranberries, tea; snack: handful of gluten-free pretzels, hot cocoa; dinner: taco salad of refried beans, salsa, lettuce, sour cream, tortilla chips, water

workout: 5 mile walk

Monday, February 21st

breakfast: 2 hardboiled eggs, coffee; snack: gluten-free muffin; lunch: salad with tuna, cranberries, carrots, tea; snack: 4 hershey’s kisses and kombucha; dinner: steak (1/2 restaurant serving); some sweet potato fries; glass of pinot grigio

workout: 5 mile run at 7:40 pace; 1 mile of walking; 1 hour of nordic skiing

Tuesday, February 22nd

breakfast: yogurt + gf granola, coffee with cream; snack: orange slices; lunch: greek salad with chicken, banana; snack: hot cocoa + 1/4 cup of maple yogurt; dinner: handful of walnuts, dates, and carob chip mix before African dance**I never really got hungry, so this was my dinner!

workout: 1.5 hours African dance

Wednesday, February 23rd

breakfast: 1/2 gluten-free english muffin with 1 fried egg and 1 sausage patty, coffee; snack: larabar; lunch: turkey soup with 5 glutino crackers; snack: 1/2 spelt flour/apple muffin; dinner: ground beef with sour cream and tomatos

workout: 4.7 miles at 7:30 pace

Thursday, February 24th

breakfast: bowl of yogurt with 2 tablespoons of granola and a drizzle of maple syrup, coffee;snack: pear; lunch: 1/2 cup of oatmeal with 1/2 scoop of protein powder, 1  rounded (tea)spoonful of almond butter, a splash of almond milk, and a sprinkle of stevia; snack: serving of gluten-free pretzels and cheddar cheese, 1/2 cup of apple sauce, kombucha; dinner: sausage and potato casserole (about a 1 cup serving), half of a pear, chamomile tea; glass of champagne

workout: 5 miles at 7:40 pace

Friday, February 25th

breakfast: oatmeal with teaspoon of honey, raisons, and walnuts, coffee; snack: serving of rice crackers; lunch: 1/2 turkey sandwich with light spread of mayo, handful of chips; g-free chocolate chip cookie; snack: think thin bar; dinner: turkey burger with homemade sweet potatoe shoe strings and glass of red wine

workout: 8 miles of running at 7:40 pace

Saturday, February 26th

breakfast: g-free english muffin with butter, scrambled egg, coffee snack: thin thin bar lunch: rice cakes with tahini, apple, greek yogurt snack: hot cocoa dinner: salad with beef, carrots, green peppers, olives, italian dressing, and a gfree roll

workout: lots of cross-country skiing

OVERVIEW: FEBRUARY 19th-26th

Looking at my week in Eats, I realize that it’s easy for me to move a lot, but not so simple for me to remove processed sugars from my diet. In the last week, I’ve walked 10.5 miles, run 23.7 miles, practiced 90 minutes of bikram yoga, danced for a few hours, and Nordic skied for about 5 hours over the course of the week. Hmm, look at that high running to yoga ratio. Also, note the higher sugar intake on days when I ran……..

My meals this week have been largely healthy, full of protein and vegetables, but there have been a few slipups: the preponderance of gluten-free substitutes and some sugar.  One of the hardest things about not cooking for yourself when you work many hours and have to eat what the kids eat is that lack of control. Now, now, I’m not relinquishing my own responsibility here, but notice the difference between my eats last Saturday, a day filled with healthful, high-protein food – and a day where I made my own choices – and Friday, a day that I ate the bulk of my meals in the school’s dining room. Further, notice the running+ sugar combo. Hmm, lessons learned from this week: I eat better when I ‘m on my own, and I eat better when I practice more yoga. My desire to run a lot is a bit compulsive. This fall, I switched over the an exercise routine that was largely yoga and walking.  My body thanked me: not only was I more toned than I’d been in years, but I’d also developed a sense of peace and calm. I didn’t wake up with the itchy feeling that “if I didn’t run, I would instantly gain 25 pounds.” Not so. I didn’t gain any weight at all. In the past few weeks, I’ve been extraordinarily stressed out. JO and I are looking for a different gig for next year – the schedule is too too much – and the stress of thinking about moving again is getting to me. So, in the past few weeks, I’ve returned to a heavier running schedule. Accompanying the return to running has been a compulsion to run more and more and a decrease in my ability to eat intuitively. As I continue into the next few weeks, I want to get back on the yoga train!

Further, another trend I’ve noticed is: when I try to “replace” bread with gluten-free substitutes (like g-free English muffins or g-free chocolate chip cookies), I: a)tend to overeat and b) feel less satisfied. I feel the best when I say, “Screw you gluten!” and eat what my body likes and craves: meats, fats, yogurt, vegetables, and fresh fruits. This week, I’ll focus on eating foods that are wholesome and delicious by their own right.

Now, to address the elephant in the room: the SUGAR!! While I have managed to fully eliminate gluten from my diet, I’ve not been successful in eliminating processed sugars. I crave sugar, even though I feel imbalanced when I eat it. Further, if it’s around, I’ll eat it. Oftentimes, I’m not even in the mood for dessert, but when school serves it, I’ll take some (like, I did with the gluten-free chocolate chip cookie on Friday). I’m going to arm myself with healthful, satisfying foods and pack my own alternative in order to squelch temptation.

So, here’s what I’ve learned:

  1. I don’t make the best choices when I lack control over my cooking.
  2. When I run more, I tend to eat more, particulary more carbohydrates and sugars.
  3. When I eat more fat in the morning (oatmeal with almond butter or eggs), I tend to eat better throughout the day.
  4. I don’t feel good when I eat gluten-free replacements, and I tend to eat more when I do so.

Here’s what I plan to do about it:

  1. Go cold turkey on processed sugar. On days when I know I’ll be tempted, I’m going to bring my own “treat”(a banana, a larabar, tahini, etc.).
  2. Attempt to do as much of my own cooking as I can. Thankfully, this week is the last week before spring break, and I’ll spend most of it doing an African dance workshop! The change in schedule means I’m only beholden to eating meals on campus on Wednesday and Thursday nights of next week. Wahoo!
  3. I’m going to begin each day with oatmeal or eggs.
  4. I’m going to seek out delicious foods (for me, that means: a diet higher in fat and containing lots of fresh foods) instead of looking to mimic my old favorites (breads, etc.)
  5. Work yoga back in. This week-long African dance workshop will require some yoga. African dance isn’t for wimps!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review: A Week in Eats February 19th-26th

  1. Pingback: Sunday Lovin’ | The Rounded Teaspoon

  2. Kath (My Funny Little Life) says:

    I’ve made similar experiences like you with the GF stuff – I feel if I don’t try to replace it with supplements, but focus on vegetables, fruit, and rather high protein instead. Especially protein has turned out to be crucial for me: If I eat too little, I won’t feel satisfied and then tend to eat bad later on.

Leave a Reply

